Ceramics: The Coil Method

As you can see in ceramics class I have produced 3 separate works.

My first project was to create a vase, to do this we rolled terracotta into thin snake like forms and coiled them around a central base. By ‘Scoring’ the clay a more adhesive join can be created when applying the ‘Slip’ (A runny mixture of clay and water).

My second project involved white and terracotta clay, The first one we lined the clays together and rolled it. The second piece involved layering the clays and once again rolling it. This produced an interesting effect that I find very aesthetically pleasing.

My textured sheets have been fired in the kiln but my coiled vase is yet to be finished.

Leave a Reply

