Sketchbook: Acrylic Final Piece

Having completed my experimentation I wanted to produce a detailed final work to practise the techniques I previously covered.

To start I mocked up a pencil sketch of a kettle and applied light tone to get a feel for the colours I was going to use.


I choose a Russel Hobbs kettle for my source material:


As you can see a large portion of the image is dominated by varying degrees of light and tone, this would look very appealing in a painting and was something I wanted to replicate.

I then redrew from my first design:


And after quite a while managed to finish my work:


I am pleased with the outcome, the paint isn’t perfect but as a first attempt I’m pleased. I gave it my best shot replicating tone and paid particular attention to the blending of my three chosen colours to produce new shades.

Leave a Reply

