Marker Rendering Techniques:

I’m having some difficulty when working solo on my marker drawings, following an image I am able to draw accurately however when producing my own designs I struggle with blending and tone.


I followed some tutorials and produced a mix bag of marker blends, some such as the purple came out excellent, whereas others such as the lighter yellows were difficult to master.


One part that I can tackle well is representing metallic textures, thanks to the number of grey markers I have it’s simple to establish a gradient.


I also explored the use of ‘steps’ to make the object appear to shine, simulating the fluctuations of light on a reflective surface.


I then moved on to exploring tone and shadow, producing a number of different cubes with different properties, and attempting to replicate a chisacuro effect.


I also looked at some simple textures and was particularly pleased with the wood grain effect I drew onto this cube.

Overall if I want to become more experienced in my own solo drawings I need to continue with my marker practise and investigate these techniques further.

Leave a Reply

