Unreal Engine:

As part of my exhibit I wish to include an animated display showing my CAD work in. a detailed domestic environment. I needed to find a suitable engine in which to create an environment and an animated sequence, after exploring my options I decided on the Unreal Engine.


I had a brief tutorial on the usage of the pre-existing assets to create rooms, the use of textures and lights to add realism to the environment, and a brief introduction into the camera tools.


It’s also possible to use a built in toolkit to produce simple geometric shapes, representatives of furniture such as lighting fixtures and tables.


This is great as it simplifies my workflow, all of my environmental parts can be created in the same engine, reducing the amount of files I need to transfer from sketchup.

I hope to look into this program further and start to produce some simple domestic scenes.

Leave a Reply

